CFP Essay Prize:

Call for Papers:

Prize competition for essays on

Run by the University of Geneva-University of Illinois at Chicago ‘Space and Time After Quantum Gravity’ project

The investigation of quantum gravity has been central to theoretical physics for at least two decades, but philosophy has only begun to systematically engage with this field in the past few years. The purpose of this competition is to promote new work in the field, and especially engage directly with philosophy and philosophers thus-far outside of quantum gravity.

We solicit technically and philosophically informed papers on any topic in the philosophical foundations of quantum gravity. We are particularly (but not exclusively) interested in work that addresses the foci of the ‘Space and Time After Quantum Gravity’ project: Does quantum gravity eliminate spacetime as fundamental structure? How does quantum gravity explain the appearance of spacetime? What are the broader implications of quantum gravity for metaphysical (and other) accounts of the world?

We anticipate awarding up to three prizes, of $1000 each. Winners must agree to visit one of the project centers, either in Chicago or Geneva (travel expenses of up to $500 will be provided) to present their work. Moreover, winning papers are to be published in one of two volumes produced by the project: the first containing more technical papers for specialists and physicists, the second aimed for a more general philosophical audience. Papers of both kinds are encouraged. Papers should be anonymized for blind refereeing. Papers under 9,000 words will be preferred. ABD graduate students or recent PhDs are particularly invited to submit abstracts, as are women and underrepresented minorities.

Deadline: November 30, 2015 (decisions by February 14, 2016)

Papers (and all correspondence) should be sent to

The Organizing Committee will select the successful submissions among all abstracts within the purview of the conference based on expert refereeing by the Review Committee.

Organizing Committee:

Nick Huggett
Keizo Matsubara
Christian Wuthrich

This competition is funded by the John Templeton Foundation.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s